The Memorial complex occupies the area of more than 11,24 hectares. The road to the main building starts from the former Moscow gates of Old Pechersk Fortress of eighteenth century. Here begins a wide lane, which opens a panoramic view of the museum town. There are 76mm cannons produced in 1942 installed next to granite stairs. The path to the museum leads through the gallery where five-meter bronze high relief is represented. This composition reflects the courage of border forces, the bravery of those who stayed in the occupied territory, the devotion of Resistance movement members and rear workers. V. Borodai, V. Shvetsov and others sculptors were the authors of these compositions. The bowl of "Fire of Glory" (diameter is 16 meters) is situated on the left side of the hill. On the right side in the special area there is an exhibition of arms and military equipment: tanks, artillery guns and mortars, the legendary "Katiusha" (multiple rocket launchers), planes and others. Nearby there is other machinery, including BMP, BMD, (infantry fighting vehicles IFV) helicopter, artillery weapons which were used in armed conflicts of the second half of the twentieth century.

The visitors can explore Li-2 aircraft, Мі-24В helicopter, and МіG-23 jet fighter.

The gallery leads to the main square of the Memorial, where sculpture compositions "The transfer of arms" (author is V. Vinaikin) and "Crossing of the Dnipro" (author is F. Sohoian) are situated. Square can accommodate about 30 thousand people during mass celebrations. In honor of national holiday related to the Second World War many events are celebrated here.

The distinguishing feature of the Memorial is the "Motherland" sculpture (author is V. Borodai). Exposition halls of the museum are inside the monument’s basement.